Magical Reappearance

importantI know, it’s been quite a while since my last post, for that friends I am deeply sorry. Sometimes your day life gets in the way of your online life.

I started an amazing new day job 4.5 months ago, it’s kept me quite busy, as well as stressed, but I love what I do. I’m a meeting planner by day, a runner by night.

IMG_20151012_102111Three weeks ago I did something I only vaguely gave thought to before this year – I qualified for the 2016 NYC Marathon through the New York Road Runners 9+1 Program!  Three weeks before that I qualified for the 2016 NYC Half Marathon through their 5 Borough Series program!

I somehow managed to run 4 races in 5 weeks – I pushed myself, buy smartly. I was careful with my training, I rested when my body said to rest, I ate properly, I listed to my trainer and I used various social media groups and posted as added motivation and inspiration.

After that I rested. I consciously decided to take a break.

I continued kickboxing once a week at my local ilovekickboxing.com gym.

I continued with my trainer once a week.

I attempted to make smart food decisions (something that didn’t always happen).

Now I am ready to get back in to my runners!

IMG_20151120_194443On Friday I decided I would run a local turkey trot. After I made the decision I found out it was a 10k, not a 5k like I thought (er, hoped?). But I stuck with my plan – I mean, I have to get back out there somehow.

In the mean time, I found that I have indeed gotten stronger. I can now plank for a minute! In fact, yesterday, I managed two 1:00 planks in a row at home.

I can tell from sessions with my trainer that he is pushing me harder because I am stronger. I can handle more.

I look forward to the journey the next year will take me on.  To getting in to a schedule, to continue to form habits, to making sure I get workouts or runs in while on travel, to not getting lazy or letting winter win.

I look forward to the continued support of my loving social media family here on the blog, on twitter and on instagram!  Keep the love coming and I’ll be sure to send some support when you need it to 🙂

peanuts winter

 

 

Leave a Reply

