That Time I: Spent a Weekend in NYC

IMAG2851As most of the running world knows, last weekend was the United NYC Half Marathon. I live only 45 minutes away from NYC, but opted to stay in the city for the weekend.

I ran with American Cancer Society DetermiNation team, we were meeting on race morning at 6:15am, so if I stayed on Long Island, I would have had to leave for the city at 5:00am, by staying in the city, I gave myself an extra hour of sleep on race morning! This is a key item on any race readiness list.

Friday afternoon I met my mother at the Penn Station waiting room with our luggage so I IMAG2848could ventured over to the United NYC Half Marathon Expo to pick up my bib, tee and other necessary race items.

Of course, I found the finisher shirt I wanted, but as I was unable to run for nearly two weeks, I wasn’t feeling my confidence in my ability to finish, so I didn’t want to own any finisher items just yet (flash forward 2 days, the website no longer as the shirt I wanted…..).

I also stopped by the DetermiNation table to pick up some flags for my race shirt as I was running in Memory and in Honor of some folks close to my heart.

Afterwards, my mother and I checked in to our hotel (Hilton Garden Inn Central Park South) and went to dinner.  We have always loved the restaurant Serafina in NYC, so of course, this is where we went off to! My first of two pasta dinners in prep for the race.

On Saturday, my mother and I had planned our day around the DetermiNation team dinner downtown starting at 6:00pm. Backtracking from there, we decided we had time to see a Matinee!  I will never pass up a chance to see a show, so at the TKTS booth in Times Square we got ourselves some tickets to The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.

IMG_20150314_134902This is a show unlike any show you would expect people to be flocking to or expect to be such a huge Broadway hit.  The show is about a young boy with autism, how he relates to the world, how he interacts with his family, his neighbors, his world and how he overcomes certain things.  I don’t want to spoil anything, but I do suggest everyone who can go see it!

I was definitely moved by the show, left amazed by the acting, by the storyline, by everything involved – the production value was amazing.  This is based on a book written by Mark Haddon.

After the show we went downtown for the team dinner where I met other DetermiNation runners, heard some amazing speakers, and was reminded why I choose this charity to run with.  We heard from Dr. Sener, who has been involved with ACS since the 1980s and also had a large part in starting the DetermiNation team!IMAG2858

We also heard from Nora McInerny Purmort who lost her husband late last year to cancer after a 3 year battle.  Throughout his treatment he gave his best efforts to stay positive and keep his sense of humor.  Our shirts were made up in his honor.

After the dinner, we got back to the hotel where I did my final prep for the next morning.  I stuck my flags on my shirt, I gathered up all the items I needed for the next morning, we taped my neck and knee and by 10:30 I was fast asleep with dreams of actually getting myself across that finish line!

Wait to hear all about my race day in my next post!

2 thoughts on “That Time I: Spent a Weekend in NYC

    • I do try to get in often, I love playing tourist in my city! Don’t stay over as often, usually just drive or train in, but it is nice to do a full mini vaca weekend in the city!

Leave a Reply

