Training Log: Challenge Yourself

push-yourself

My treadmill at home is stuck at a 1.5 incline.  To some this may be nothing, to me, it’s everything. I HATE hills, I try to avoid them at all costs, I tend to walk them in races.

My treadmill is forcing me to face this issue. It WANTS me to work hills. I live in a relatively flat area, so running outside offers me zero hill work.

I have found I am more and more intrigued my new training partner. He won’t take no for an answer, he forces me to do things I really don’t want to do, challenges me with each run.

My training calendar says 3-4 miles or 40-45 minutes today.  I can handle that. I can do 40-45 minutes on the ‘mill.  Heck, I did 50 minutes on Monday (3.5 miles).

I look at this new training partner as a challenge. When I first started running inside about two weeks ago, I was quickly discovered I had to go back down to 90 second run/walk intervals (I was up to 2:30/90 back in November) because of this added incline. I discovered I was running my 90 second at a 4.7 speed (also considerable slower then my outside pace).

However, I took this challenge on. I let my body tell me what’s working, whats not, what it can handle.  This week I have increased to a 4.8-5.0 speed! I am up to 3 miles in roughly 42 minutes (also considerably slower then outside….I was doing 5k’s in about 36-38 minutes outside, before the cold hit).

Needless to say, my challenge to myself, get to the 5.0 speed as frequently as I can, for as long as I can hold it – while sticking to the 90 second run/walk.

When training for a race, I find, aside from having the race as my goal, I need little challenges as I run, go a further distance, run faster, increase my run interval, ect. Until it warms up, whenever I inside at home, my challenge is to win the treadmill incline battle of 2015 – each and every time!

Less then two months till NYC Half Marathon, don’t forget to donate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

