NYC Half Marathon DetermiNation Team Training Log: Day 1

ACS DetermiNationAnd so it begins – my official training for the NYC Half Marathon as a member of the American Cancer Society DetermiNation!

Since I started running I knew one day I would run a race as a charity runner and that it would be to benefit cancer.  My father passed away 9.5 years ago from lung/liver cancer.  My aunt passed away 24 years ago from breast cancer.  10 years I got lucky when we found pre-cancerous polyps in my colon. Not everyone gets lucky as we found out 7 months later when my dad was diagnosed with cancer and lost his battle 6 months after that.

It’s personal to me, it’s personal to my family and its personal to some of my friends who have battled or have family members who battled cancer. Cancer touches each of us in someway. By running with DetermiNation my hope is to help the amazing oncology doctors and nurses finally erase cancer.

IMAG2418Today was day of 1 training. My training calendar says to run 2-3 miles. I figured I had that no problem, I have been running 2.5-3.1 miles consistently for almost two weeks now. I was very wrong! My trainer cancelled Saturday’s group run, but seeing as I did 3.1 miles on Friday, I’m still on track!

IMAG2424My legs were not happy with me. They felt tights and fatigued quite early on. My lungs were not happy – but I am chalking that up to the cold wind that was coming from all sides.  By the time I got out for my run it was close to 40 degrees, but I still dressed nice and warm with layers – Old Navy Running Jacket over Adidas Tee over Under Armour Long sleeved tech shirt with Under Armour leggings, Asics head warmer, sweaty bands headband and running gloves. Not to be forgotten – Mizuno Wave Rider 18s!

I think part of my problem was I decided to increase my intervals from 2min run/90 sec walk to 2:30min run/90 sec walk. Might have been just a slight bit to much for my body just yet. Another week of the 2/90 interval should help.

IMAG2416My goal was 2.5, but I listened to my body, stopped at 2.3, rolled out my legs, popped some advil and will run again when the calendar says to – Thursday for 2-3 miles or 30 minutes. Whether I want to run or I don’t over the next 30 months, I will do what my training calendar says to do.

I will train properly, I will achieve my race goal, I will raise $1,000 (with your help of course so please donate!).   But most of all, I will make myself and my dad (as he watches over me) proud for finishing.
Its worth it

One thought on “NYC Half Marathon DetermiNation Team Training Log: Day 1

  1. Pingback: NYC Half Marathon DetermiNation Team Training Log: Day 2 | travel.run.live

Leave a Reply

