What If I Can’t Run Anymore?

It’s September.  My hip has been causing issues with my running since March.  I missed four races this year already (only one of which I had paid the reg fee).  I am about to cancel a registration for a refund on a fifth race.

I am determined to run the Diva’s 5k the first weekend in October.  My goal is get in at least a 2 mile run by the week prior.  That gives me a little more then 2 weeks to accomplish this.

I spend a lot of time attempting to figure out what races I should or could run and when I have the time for them.  I am determined to run a half in the NYC/Long Island area soon.  I want to achieve the goal of joining the 50 States Half Marathon Club.  I want to beat my previous race times.  I want to get more medals.  I want to partake in more race series challenges.

I want to keep running.
I need to keep running.

Will my hip let me.

It makes me severely sad just thinking that maybe, potentially, my Diva’s 5k could be my last race.  It’s barely been two years since I started running, since I started thinking of myself as an athlete again.

What if I can’t keep running? What if…….

Where It matters

4 thoughts on “What If I Can’t Run Anymore?

  1. I experienced hip pain for a long time and this year I finally gave in and went to see a chiropractor that practiced ART. It was the best decision ever and I don’t know why I waited so long. I had scar tissue that he broke apart and now a few months later I am running pain free. I would recommend you give it a go.

Leave a Reply

