How Do You Keep Going?

It’s been 6 months since my hip starting hurting.  It’s been almost 5 months since the ortho doc said bursitis.  It’s been 2 months since insurance said you do not need anymore PT.  It’s been one week since I had the most awesomest acurpressure massage on my hip area.  Yet, through all that, my hip is still bugging me.

Last Friday I forced myself (yes I just used the word FORCED) to go to the gym for a small work out. I did 15 minutes on the rower instead of my usual 20.  I then did one upper body circuit and called it a day.  Since then I have been feeling under the weather.  I let that feeling get the best of me and did not work out since.

This morning, finally feeling a bit better, I told myself I need to get back out there.  I need to get a run in.  I have a 5k – Diva’s Race (first race since injury) in less than a month.  So far I have not run further then 2 miles!

This morning I managed .8 before my legs gave out.  Literally gave out.  They felt weak and tired.  I started to drag my feet.  I wasn’t feeling well.  I let that win out again.

However, my times weren’t bad.  Last Wednesday I ran 1 mile for the first time in over two weeks.  My time was 12:35.  Today I ran .8 with a time of 10:08.  According to my Garmin Forerunner 10 (find me samtravels20) my mile split would have been 12:40.  I felt happy, even though my body felt trained.  I was still within the same times I was in last week.

But who do I fight this feeling of being down because my body won’t let me run.  How do I know it’s just body and not just being beat down mentally because my hip still bugs out after runs?

How do you keep yourself going when you feel like giving up?

sometimes running sucks

Leave a Reply

