That Time I Saw More Than A Chicago Hotel

So, for the third time in my career I was off to Chicago for work.  This time however, I was determined to see more than just the hotel!

I arranged to come in a day early and tacked a day on at the end of the program as well. This gave me a few options of being a tourist – something I, a traveler, do love doing in a new city.

Before I left, I had booked myself on the famous river boat Chicago Architecture Tour.  Everyone I have ever spoken to about going to Chicago had told me I HAVE to do this.  As I had about 2 hours to kill before the tour, I did a bit of walking.  I walked down Michigan Ave and visited Millennium Park.  I walked over to the Bean at Cloud Gate and just stood in awe for a little bit. This piece of art is immense and fascinating.  The mirror ability, the reflections – it’s great to finally see in person!

2014-05-28 13.11.03

2014-05-28 12.56.48

I was also able to cross off two more MLB stadiums from the great stadium tour.  The first night in town I went to the US Cellular Field to see the White Sox vs. Indians.  Coming from NY, I was surprised what my $20 got me – I was sitting field level near the left field foul pole.  Since the stadium was mostly empty I moved over a few more sections to be just a bit closer to the infield.

2014-05-28 19.09.55 2014-05-28 18.35.562014-05-28 18.48.51

Everyone was very friendly.  The stadium as nice.  Nothing special to write about, but a rather nice stadium.

On my last day in Chicago, I went down to Wrigley Field.  Probably the place I was most excited to visit during this trip.  As I had most of the day free, I opted for the Wrigley Field Stadium Tour.  Learned a little of the history of the Cubs and of Wrigley Field (by far, one of the top 5 most iconic stadiums in the MLB).  I picked a great summer to visit – Wrigley is celebrating it’s centennial this year.

2014-06-03 14.38.57

2014-06-03 15.30.08 2014-06-03 15.31.49

One of the things I loved most about Wrigley was the old time feel of the stadium.  I got the feeling that I was stepping in to baseball as it was viewed back in the mid-1900s.  Nothing is very high tech.  There was only one screen in the outfield and along the seating areas.  The scoreboard is still updated manually.

Also – they are going through a major renovation of the stadium.   I was highly impressed by that.  They are updating Wrigley, while trying to hold on to the feel and history of it.  Unlike Yankee Stadium, where the update involved rebuilding a new stadium.  Yankee Stadium looks the same as the old one, however, it’s new – in my own opinion, this means it lost some of its history.

2014-06-03 16.04.52

After the tour, I had also stayed for the game.  It worked out quite well – the Cubs were playing the Mets!  Something I enjoyed that the Cubs and Wrigley do for it’s visitors – they offer a First Time Visitor Certificate.  So yes, of course I got myself one!

Wrigley Cert & Ticket

All in all – Chicago was enjoyable!  It’s a nice, comfortable, walkable city.  The public transportation system is simple to use.  The only time I took a taxi was to and from the airport, and when it involved work travel (going to and from the McCormick Convention Center).  The only thing I wasn’t happy about – learning just why it’s nicknamed the Windy City….BRRR!

One thought on “That Time I Saw More Than A Chicago Hotel

  1. Pingback: Training – What’s My Goal? | travel.run.live

Leave a Reply

