That Time I Saw More Than A Dallas Hotel

In April I was headed to Dallas for work.  I decided, since I’m freelancing, which gives me a bit more freedom with my scheduling, that I would take a few days.

After my work wrapped, my time in Dallas began.  I took a little walk down to see some infamous American history.  My hotel, Hyatt Regency Dallas, was only a quarter mile from Dealey Plaza and the Grassy Knoll.  The concierge at the hotel was fabulous.  Provided me suggestions and tips walking around Dallas.  She also provided me with a coupon to the 6th Floor Museum.

Dealey Plaza is a cute little area just on the other side of the exact spot JFK was shot in his motorcade.  You can see the Xs in the street of where the car was when he was hit.  The Plaza itself is pretty, clean and very relaxing feeling.  The city has turned what was a dark day in our history in to an honored place of memory and awe.

2014-04-11 14.57.23 2014-04-11 14.58.28

2014-04-11 14.59.19

After walking through Dealey Plaza, I went on up to the 6th Floor Museum.  The museum is located on the 6th floor of the book depository where it is said that Lee Harvey Oswald was located when he shot JFK.

The museum gives a history of the time period of JFK’s presidency – the early 1960s.  You are able to read about the culture of the country at the time, the political climate during JFKs presidency, and the policies he did or attempted to implement.

The timeline then goes on to discuss the climate (culturally and politically) at the time of JFKs assassination.  You are provided with a timeline of the events leading up to the actual shooting – his arrival in Texas and then his arrival in Dallas.

The museum provides artifacts from that day from people who attended his arrivals, rallies and events in which he appeared.

The area in which Lee Harvey Oswald is to have hidden out is encased in protective glass.  They inform us that the items in that area are as they were on November 22, 1963.  The museum goes on to cover the actual shoot with the radio calls and TV announcement by Walter Cronkite of the shooting and his passing.

Even though I wasn’t born until 17 years after, I was emotionally moved and affected by this museum.  JFK was such a presence in our history.  Mention of him in most conversations is always tinged with the ‘what if’ attached.  He started a wave of change like our nation had not seen in many years.

Photography is prohibited in the museum.  If you ever get the opportunity to be in the Dallas, I highly recommend taking an hour or two out of your schedule to visit this museum (or schedule the visit in).

Afterwards I changed hotels and met up with my friend Meredith who was in town for work as well.  Because our schedules kindly overlapped, we both decided to continue our MLB stadium tour.  We went down to Global Life Park to take in a Texas Rangers baseball game!

2014-04-12 18.53.46

This is definitely a newer stadium.  It’s large.  We sat up in the top level, down the third base line.  The views were still pretty good even that high up, from the outfield.

I even took a little along the promenade to view AT&T Stadium, home to the Dallas Cowboys.  Quite a view! 2014-04-12 19.53.25

The one oddity I encounter in Dallas occurred at the ball park.  We were a small group.  One of our members was from Canada.   Upon arrival, we stopped at concessions to get some food and drink.  Our Canadian friend ordered a beer, showed her ID, paid and walked away with her.  Later in the game, she went out, stood in line, showed her ID and was denied.  When she questioned, she was told they do not serve alcohol to CANADIANS!  We then proceeded to question an usher about this who claimed it was a law that they cannot serve alcohol to foreigners.

As a traveler, and a New Yorker – I find this an odd ‘law’.  As a country, we are a popular travel destination.  As a country, we pride ourselves on our immigrant laws.  As a country, we are a melting pot in which people from all over the world come to travel and live.  How can you claim to have a law in which you do not serve alcohol to foreigners?  This act tainted my entire trip and screwed my view on Dallas as a whole.  Never once in my travels have I been denied alcohol because my ID was from the USA.

2014-04-11 20.24.24

One thought on “That Time I Saw More Than A Dallas Hotel

  1. Pingback: Training – What’s My Goal? | travel.run.live

Leave a Reply

