Where do you find motivation to keep moving?

As I work to catch up on a few more blog posts from my life over the past three and a half months, I have an update to provide.

As you noticed, I have been rehab-ing hip bursitis for the past two months.  I was battling it for 6 weeks before I even went to the doctor. Yet, upon my follow up doctor’s appointment I made the decision to get the “shot”.  Yes, I opted for the cortisone.  This decision was made mostly on how rough my hip was still feeling.  I know it was still hurting mostly due to my work/travel schedule, and even though it was calming down nearly 100% for the summer, I did not want to risk another 12 weeks of not running vs the 6 weeks if I got the shot.

Sadly, it took getting the shot to kick my ass back in gear.  I think mostly it was the fact that the shot worked.  Within 3 days my hip felt mostly normal again.  I wanted to get back out there running so much, yet I wasn’t willing to risk backsliding another 4 weeks or 3 months or risk losing the rest of the year.

However, right after the shot, PT started me on the elliptical.  I’ll be honest, I HATE this machine.  I feel so uncoordinated every time I hop on.  But this was the closest thing to running so far I have been allowed to do.  So I internally motivated myself back to the gym.  I used my running/fitness friends on twitter and instagram as backup motivation when I felt myself slacking. (See the list at the end of the post for the ones who have helped me the most)  I started slow, do the 5 minutes they have be do at PT.  Next time, it was do 10 minutes.

For the past 6 days I have done some type of activity at least once a day!  I may not be able to participate in the Runners World Running Streak, however, I can do my own type of streak.  Part of my motivation and guidance is to see how many days in a row I can move.  I have gone on bike rides, walks around NYC, PT and gym workouts.  I look forward to adding a day to the streak, and feel that I would be letting myself down if I wasn’t active for the day.

Sunday I took my bike out for the first time since Hurricane Sandy.  Tuesday I rode down to visit the boardwalk for the first time as well!  Another perk to living 2.5 miles from the beach!

2014-06-18 09.50.01
Twitter:
Dani-Holmes Kirk
Amanda Brooks
Erica D House

Instagram:
Run_motivate
New York Road Runners
Irisheyes1982
theawesomemom

0fc8232d94af3d6e9c1e0886784c5fc3

One thought on “Where do you find motivation to keep moving?

Leave a Reply

